Skip to content

Risk Goals = Everyday Revival

November 17, 2011

With all things in life that are important to us and to God it is a good idea to plan for success. If you are planning on getting married someday you should make preparation for that. Maybe you want to start wearing underarm deodorant and upgrade your wardrobe. Expecting couples make preparations for a newborn child. They make plans on where the baby will sleep and they will buy a crib. When going to war an army makes strategic plans for victory. So to in our personal walk with Jesus and a revival lifestyle we must make a plan for success. One of the greatest ways that the Lord has encouraged me to go after a supernatural lifestyle is to strategically make goals for risk taking. In our culture we say faith is spelled R.I.S.K. Meaning that asking to pray for someone takes great risk or faith. When I was in first year at Bethel school of supernatural ministry I started making goals for risk. It would look something like this “Pray for one person a day for healing and prophesy over one person a day” I would keep track of my risk goals and check them off each day. This was a great way for me to stay focused on living a revival lifestyle. Bill Johnson says “Most of the things that you “need” in life God will bring to you, but most of the things that you “want” you will have to go after them in pursuit” Goal setting is a great way to stay focused on a target. If you desire to heal the sick you will have to pray for the sick. If you desire to walk in miracle working power you will need to pray for people that need a miracle. Most of the time it is inconvinent to stop and pray for people in the public. We always are on our way to somewhere to see somebody. I have noticed that making daily goals to pray for people helps me to be more aware of the people around me that need Jesus. It helps me take off the blinders so to speak. When I’m in Wal-mart just buying laundry soap and the lady standing there looks depressed. If I have a risk goal to make 3 peoples day a little happier than I am more apt to stop and take a few minutes to love and encourage her. Having daily goals to impact another’s life with the love and power of Jesus is a great way to plan for revival success. If you are not intentional about growing in risk taking you will never grow beyond your last level. We grow our spiritual muscles from pushing against greater resistance. Just like body builders must increase the resistance or weight they lift to keep growing we must push against greater levels of resistance too. Most of the time the resistance is fear. Fear of man, fear of rejection or fear of failure. Regardless of its name it is fear that would like to keep you from being you. If you are a Christian you are the dominant force whenever you go. Darkness has never overpowered light. Never! Go to your darkest room in your house and flip on the light switch and see what happens. Light wins. The biggest plan of our adversary is to convince us that his darkness is greater than our light so we put a basket over our light and hide. That is his only offense is that he would convince us that we are on defense. I’m sorry but if the Holy Spirit lives in us than we ALWAYS have the ball!  The Bible says that we are the light of the world and a light shouldn’t be covered up! So I encourage you to make some risk goals for this week to step out past your comfort zone and to release Jesus on the people around you. Yesterday I realized I needed to prophesy over 1 more person to reach my daily goal and I was in the Mcdonald’s drive thru around 10pm. I got to speak a word of encouragement to the lady working the drive thru window and her entire countenance lifted as she embraced the fact that God really does love her and has a great plan for her life. She said “Thank you, you have no idea how much I needed to hear that!” The gospel isn’t complicated but it may seem inconvenient in our busy schedule so make a plan to intentionally release Gods goodness using risk goals. My risk goal today was to pray for 3 peoples healing and to prophesy over 3 strangers going about my normal day. I got to see 5 miracles of healing and prophesied over 7 people. Like most of you I am busy with life’s demands. I am a single dad with kids at home and work a secular job. I oversee a branch of the supernatural outreach dept at Bethel and do supernatural conferences that keep me busy. It is easy for me to get in a routine of ministry only praying for people on specified outreaches. That is not the model that Jesus set for us. He did life and released heaven as he went. We are heavens resource to people. So again I challenge you like I challenge myself to make a plan for revival success in your life daily. Set specific risk goals for yourself asking the Holy Spirit what that looks like and go for it! Please write me and tell me how this helped.. Blessings Jason

Here is a list of risk goals from our incredible youth leaders at Campus Awakening in Redding. Each ” * ” represents a different high school students Love Risk Goal to impact their campus this week.

*Tell someone that Jesus loves them

*Pray for a friend (not a Christian) who is feeling sad or depressed

*Pray for 1 healing a day and 1 prophesy with strangers

*Pray for the guy with the cast and prophesy over 3 people

*Heal somebody with my shadow and heal someone by having them pat their head and rub their stomach

*To pray 3 times for someone this week

*Tell 1 person that God loves them each day this week

*Prophesy over 2 people

*Give 2 words of knowledge outside the church each day

*Pray for 2 people a day, prophecy over someone everyday and pray for the paralytic person at my school

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula Coronado-Carpenter permalink
    November 17, 2011 8:20 am

    Thank you this is awesome. I am going to take more risks than I have. Your posts greatly encourage me so much.

  2. November 17, 2011 8:40 am

    Jason, I absolutely love this!
    I totally agree with what you said here: “If you are not intentional about growing in risk taking you will never grow beyond your last level.” I just came out of the Hot Tub where I was chatting with a few amazing revivalists about how we never want to end up settling with what we have, but always pursue more and step out further. Of course I’m thankful for everything God is doing now, but that shouldn’t hold me back from thankfully anticipating to see even more of His goodness manifested through my life. I shared a story with the others of how I told God I wanted to grow to a new level in my words of knowledge and was now aiming not just for sickness, but also when/how it happened and their names. The first two times I stepped out it went awfully wrong haha I kept going and the next time I had a specific word (woman had fallen off a white horse 3 years ago and broken the 3rd rip on the left side, which is still hurting when she takes deep breaths) it was totally spot on!
    I like your body-builder example. It’s fun to watch how incredibly fast spiritual muscles can grow once we put on a “heavier weight”, isn’t it?

  3. November 17, 2011 3:04 pm

    WOW! Love you man! this is so good my friend, This is why you are so needed in the kingdom of God. miss you brother.LOVE THIS !! Love you man!

  4. David D'Louhy permalink
    November 17, 2011 3:38 pm

    Great post Jason! Making goals each day or each week are so helpful in keeping us on track for our longer term goals! You shared some great tips and you are living proof that what you are saying works! I hadn’t been making risk goals, but I think you just convinced me that it is a great idea.

  5. Jordan Brenner permalink
    November 18, 2011 9:18 pm

    Thank you Jason. This post, and other posts/videos have been such an encouragement to me. I will try and set more goals for myself and plan on having some awesome news to share. I wanted to bless you too. I really appreciate you being personable and taking the time to encourage and sow into my life this summer at the Revival conference. I hope I get to see more of you around Bethel. Thanks for being a model man of God that I can follow.

  6. December 15, 2011 5:02 pm

    This is very helpful knowing you are a single father and that you have a secular job. A regular person if you will.

    One secret i want to know , in the videos what Exactly ARE you listening too in your ear buds? And why?
    You are a wonderful light Jason, thanks.

  7. December 27, 2011 3:14 pm

    Thanks Jason. You, Pete C., and Todd White are my role models. I watch the stuff you guys do, copy it, and God shows up. Thanks for teaching by showing other believers how to live supernatrally. What you teach works.

    • December 31, 2011 4:29 am

      Thanks Dave,
      I am just learning myself too! Pete and Todd have both been an inspiration in my life also. We are all just going after Jesus and learning how to partner with heaven to bring liberty to the captives. It a huge priveldge an honor to give Jesus to others…keep going for it my brother!

  8. January 9, 2012 9:02 pm

    Just started this… being intentional… and learning that it’s infectious to Christians around me… taking risk… sometimes it turns out great, sometimes I still chicken out or back up… but I’m growing and learning, and I;m excited to see where it all goes. Thanks for your blog!

Leave a Reply

