Skip to content

RISE UP AND WALK: The Church and It’s Disabled Members- By Jordanne Babcock (My Niece)

August 17, 2014

jordanneThis young lady made a HUGE impact on me recently! This is Jordanne Babcock my beautiful niece. In Yakima a few weeks ago we were enjoying ourselves having lunch and we also prayed again for Jordanne physical healing which we did not see at that time. When we asked Jordanne what were some of her biggest dreams she started to cry uncontrollably and chocked out these words through her tears “I want everyone in the world to know how important they are. I want everyone to know how special and valuable they are” In that moment I saw the heart of Jesus, a true love champion. Jordanne’s love for the world touched me deeply.

She also told me about an article she wrote about her experience and challenges of believing for healing and not being physically healed yet. I just read it and “Its brilliant” It is a great read for anyone praying for others or believing for yourself for a physical healing. It helps us understand the tension while keeping hope and above all LOVING the person we are praying with Jordanne don’t stop writing anytime soon…

Here is the amazing article:

RISE UP AND WALK: The Church and It’s Disabled Members. By Jordanne Babcock

A look of expectant hope, immediately followed by a flicker of confused frustration. I’ve seen those looks on the faces of people many, many times before. I was born with a birth defect called Spina bifida. After seventeen years of being in a wheelchair, these situations have become almost like clockwork. A truly well-meaning Christian, usually a friend or acquaintance, sometimes a stranger, will approach me and ask if they can pray for my healing.They put their hands on me and begin to pray with such conviction that it’s obvious they just know it will work. So they pray. They pray, and they pray. “In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk!” And then…wait for it…nothing happens. I have come through every one of those prayers totally unchanged, physically.

It is quickly evident that nothing has taken place on a physical level. There’s no jumping or dancing on my part; I still can’t even stand. This person’s demeanor completely changes, if only for a moment. They failed. They thought they knew that God would do something amazing, but, from all appearances, He didn’t. When I see the person’s face fall, I honestly feel bad for them. They were expecting a life-changing event to occur. They knew that God was more than capable of that.

I knew it, too. I’m a pastor’s daughter. I’ve been a part of the Church my entire life. Over and over again, I’ve heard the teachings of Jesus and the Bible. I’ve been taught that God is good, God is love, God heals the broken. And yet, although I knew that, I looked at my own body and saw no evidence of healing. As Christians, we live in this tension every day. We know that Jesus has already defeated this world. He has already taken care of sin and death, and He has paid for our healing. God’s Kingdom is here, but we still live in a broken world. We live in this tension of “now, but not yet.”

While I am confident today that God wasn’t just ignoring my cries to be physically whole, there was a time when I felt disappointed and neglected after every one of these prayers. There I was, literally crying out to Him day after day, and nothing was getting better. If anything, things were getting worse. I was getting sick more often.

I had to have surgery to remove scar tissue that had become entangled around the spinal cord and nerves in my back from a previous surgery I’d had on the day I was born. It was causing incredible pain, and removing the tissue was supposed to relieve that. While it did reduce the pain, the surgery sent the nerves into shock. For two weeks, my back was paralyzed. I couldn’t get up from the hospital bed I was laying in. I was even less mobile than I had been before. Something that was supposed to bring healing only brought more brokenness. I spent most of my nights in that hospital crying to God. I just could not understand. I wanted so badly to be healed.

I wanted it so desperately, in fact, that I failed to notice something else was happening. I was so focused on the “not yet”, I missed what God was doing in the “now”. Scottish preacher George Matheson, who began losing his eyesight in his late teens and was completely blind by his twenties, once prayed, “Show me that I have climbed to You by the path of pain. Show me that my tears have made my rainbow.” And that is what God showed me.

It was on an evening in the Spring of 2012 that I finally figured it out. I had been attending, by all other accounts, a normal community youth service. We sang songs, we heard a message, we had a prayer time at the end. That night I went up to pray, but I didn’t expect much. I prayed the same thing I had prayed hundreds of times before. Just as I suspected, nothing happened. Except, that wasn’t true.

At the beginning of that prayer I was tired, I was frustrated, and, quite honestly, I was ready to give up. After the prayer, I felt alive. I felt refreshed. I had a new desire to want to fight this battle I called life. While nothing happened to me on the outside, my heart was changed by that prayer. As I was thinking over what I had just experienced, I was smacked upside the head with the realization that this was not the first time I had felt this. In fact, every time I cried to God for healing, He gave it to me. But the healing He gave wasn’t what I had expected, so I never recognized it. Rather than healing my legs, He healed my soul. Through my pain and brokenness, I climbed to Him.

In closing, there are just a couple more things I’d like to say:

To the ones continually asking and seeking my physical healing: Thank you, truly. You are a huge blessing in my life, even if I never knew you personally. Please understand that I am not asking you to give up, nor am I ungrateful for your pleas on my behalf. All I am saying is this – your prayer did not go unnoticed. God heard. He answered. You really did make a difference, in a far deeper way than you realize.

To the ones struggling with a disability, physical or otherwise: You can do this. You can live this life, regardless of whether you are healed or not, because God is always with you. You are not alone. And if you have prayed for healing, but haven’t seemed to receive it, don’t give up. Keep asking. And know that, even if you are not answered in the way you expect, you will be answered. Keep your eyes open for what God is doing now.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Christopher permalink
    August 17, 2014 9:43 am

    I can empathize with you Jordanne. I am deaf, and practically, my whole life there have been other Christians praying for our ears to be open. I haven’t seen a single deaf people being healed of deafness, but I have seen the very same people being healed of back or knee injuries, or whatever aliment they are having.
    It puzzles me, because if we have the faith to be healed of certain ailments, surely, we have the same faith to be healed of deafness, but I am often reminded that God uses the weak and the babes to silence the strong, the wise and the great. Being deaf means that my language level/vocabulary is not the same as normal people, it means that I am naive. I may not appear smart to hearing people, but I rely on the Spirit of God to demonstrate His power and His wisdom, and if I, being weak, am being used by God, I see it as a great privilege to serve Him in my weaknesses and simplicity. After all, all the great men we read about in the Word had weaknesses.
    Therefore, have the confidence, and anticipate the plans God has for you.

  2. Diana permalink
    August 17, 2014 9:10 pm

    This IS an EXCELLENT article written honestly and courageously and lovingly. I have found what you said to be true in my own life, about the promise of my own physical healing and that of my loved ones. I agree wholeheartedly and I thank you for sharing your heart, experience, and faith around this sensitive and important topic, Jordanne. You communicated it so well. ❤

  3. August 20, 2014 1:09 am

    I am incredibly grateful for Jordanne’s perspective. Too often in training for supernatural healing we talk ABOUT the people who need/want healing, but we rarely hear FROM them on how they feel. Reading this has brought a new level of faith for me to know that God uses my prayers even when I don’t see the results. Thanks, Jordanne.

    • August 20, 2014 6:36 am

      Thanks for your comment Kathryn. I was so thankful for my wonderful niece and this article for so many reasons too 🙂 Bless you! Hope to be out in Texas again soon.

      • August 28, 2014 7:52 pm

        Woohoo! I’ll see you then! One of these days I’d love to visit Redding… 🙂

Leave a Reply

